Minutes of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District Meeting held Via Ms Teams on Monday, 14 June 2021 at 9.30 am

Members Present: Councillor Paddy Farrell (Cathaoirleach)

Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire

Councillor Des Guckian Councillor Sean McGowan Councillor Thomas Mulligan Councillor Enda Stenson

Officials Present: Joseph Gilhooly, Director of Services, Economic Development,

Planning and Infrastructural Services Kieran Brett, Meetings Administrator Kathleen Ellis, Assistant Staff Officer

CMD.74.21 <u>Election of the Cathaoirleach</u>

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor Paddy Farrell addressed the meeting and expressed his sincere thanks to the staff of Leitrim County Council, Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District and fellow councillors for their assistance and support during his term and the unusual sort of year.

The Members congratulated Councillor Paddy Farrell for the fair and impartial manner in which he conducted his role as Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District, and they acknowledged it was a difficult year due to the pandemic and having to conduct online meetings. The Members thanked Councillor Paddy Farrell for his co-operation and how he let the debate flow.

Councillor Paddy Farrell proceeded to deal with the first item on the agenda of the Annual Meeting of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District and invited nominations for the Election of Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire proposed Councillor Thomas Mulligan for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022. This was seconded by Councillor Sean McGowan.

Councillor Paddy Farrell invited any other nomination for the position of Cathaoirleach for Carrick on Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Des Guckian proposed that Councillor Des Guckian be nominated for the position of Cathaoirleach of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022.

As there was no seconder for the nomination of Cllr Des Guckian, Councillor Paddy

Farrell deemed Councillor Thomas Mulligan elected as Chairperson of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022.

Proposed by Councillor Finola Armstrong McGuire seconded by Sean McGowan;

"That Councillor Thomas Mulligan be elected Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022."

On taking the role of Cathaoirleach, Thomas Mulligan thanked his proposer and seconder for the position.

CMD.75.21 <u>Election of the Leas Cathaoirleach</u>

Councillor Thomas Mulligan invited nominations for the Election of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on-Shannon Municipal District.

Councillor Paddy Farrell proposed the nomination of Councillor Sean McGowan as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District. This was seconded by Cllr Enda Stenson. Councillor Thomas Mulligan invited any other proposal for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District, and no counter-proposal was proposed. Councillor Thomas Mulligan deemed Councillor Sean McGowan elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022.

Proposed by Councillor Paddy Farrell seconded by Councillor Enda Stenson;

"That Councillor Sean McGowan be elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District for the term 2021/2022."

Cllr Sean McGowan thanked his proposer and seconder for the position.

CMD.76.21 To agree dates and times for the schedule of meetings of Carrick on Shannon Municipal District

Proposed by Cllr Enda Stenson and seconded by Cllr Finola Armstrong McGuire and unanimously resolved;

"That the meetings of Carrick-on-Shannon MD take place at 10am on the 2nd Monday of every month."

CMD.77.21 Any other matters relevant to an Annual Meeting of the Carrick on Shannon Municipal District

Councillor Des Guckian requested that a slot be left at future meetings for reporting

back on previous motions that have been passed.

Mr Gilhooly thanked Cllr Paddy Farrell for his co-operation during the past year as Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District and he said he looked forward to working with Cllr Thomas Mulligan as Cathaoirleach of Carrick-on-Shannon Municipal District.

Mr Gilhooly said there are no procedures for follow up on previous motions. The pertinent issue can be brought forward as a motion at future meetings in line with the provisions of standing orders or members can contact the relevant official who is dealing with the issue.

Councillor Des Guckian said it is important that good motions are not lost, and officials should be proactive as a matter of courtesy to members.

This concluded the business of the meeting at 9.40 am

Monday, 12th July 2021

Date:

SIGNED:		SIGNED:	
	Councillor Thomas Mulligan	-	Kieran Brett
	Cathaoirleach, Carrick on		Meetings Administrator
	Shannon Municipal District		